SKY Original Geoff Hurst documentary

not just 1966 and all that...

Words by Paul Sumpter, Tuesday 4 Oct 2022


We’re thrilled to reveal we’ve just delivered soundtrack score for a new SKY original feature-length documentary about England’s 1966 World Cup Hat-trick hero, Sir Geoff Hurst.

Hurst: The First and Only charts some incredible highs and little-known lows as the sporting legend talks for the first time about the tragedies which have mirrored his remarkable achievements. Hitting football’s highest heights compares little to losing a brother to suicide and a daughter to a brain tumour. And six years after Hurst’s glittering career came to an end, he found himself on the dole.

Directed by Ron Scalpello and presented and produced by Matthew Lorenzo, the film is so much more than a football documentary: at it’s heart this is a very human story, revealing the man behind the statues (there are four of them) and the accolades – a life shaped by glory and tragedy. Fame and normality. Still the only man to ever score a hat-trick in a world cup final (and the perfect hat-trick too – left peg, right peg, header).

The story is told in the company of friends and peers including Harry Redknapp, Harry Kane, Gareth Southgate, Gary Lineker and Alan Shearer amongst a an A-list of contributors.

As a devout West Ham and England fan, this really did represent something of a dream gig for Paul, our founder and Head Composer. #COYI

Hurst: The First and Only will air on SKY 13th November at 7pm, right in time for the World Cup.



Mark Anderson


executive producer

Sam Cryer


executive producer

James R.M. Hunt


Archive Producer

Matthew Lorenzo



Ron Scalpello



Daniel Sharp





Paul Sumpter



Damian Paul Daniel


Film Editing 

Alexander Goff


Art Direction 

Sarah Mursal


Costume Design 

Noella Mingo


Production Management 

Haley Bishop

production manager

Craig Blair

production manager

Second Unit Director or Assistant Director 

Daniel Castro

first assistant director

Steve Cope

associate director

Adam Watts

second assistant director

Sound Department 

Rich Evans

sound mixer

Ray Lyttleton

Additional Sound

James Waterhouse

Additional Sound

Oliver Waton

Additional Sound

Gavin Winterborn

sound recordist

Visual Effects 

Svilen Aynadzhiev

visual effects artist

Dimo Mez

digital artist

Malou Van Rooij

visual effects producer

Michael Wong

visual effects artist

Camera and Electrical Department 

Ciaron Craig

camera operator

Michael Donald

still photographer

Tommy Gardner

lighting technician

Tony Hamilton

lighting technician

Warren Market

camera operator

Ken Mizutani

digital imaging technician

Sammy Purcell

camera operator

Oli Watts

camera operator

John Wenman


Editorial Department 

Ciaron Craig

assistant editor

Taylor Gorske

post-production assistant

Matt King

on-line editor

Thomas Richard

Junior Editor

Michelle Siu

post-production assistant

James Wooley

additional editor

Music Department 

Calum Brice-Stevens

music supervisor

Additional Crew 

Jesse Badham

executive assistant to mr sharp

Joe Lorenzo


Sujata Naik

production coordinator

Iggy Paris


Neha Rayarel

set medic

Arki Scalpello


Kat Vahalova




Posted by
Founder & Creative Director

Tuesday 4 Oct 2022

Similar Posts