MØ “Live to Survive”

New work | 2 minute read

MØ “Live to Survive”

Sound-design and Final Mix for Official Single Video

Words by Yaz Merrin, Friday 11 Jun 2021

 

We were thrilled to be asked recently to collaborate with billion-streamed Danish artist MØ on her epic new video for single Live to Survive.

Working closely with Swedish / Brazilian director Joanna Nordhal and producers Mathias Gilay, Meghan Willcox and Trine Pillay of Newland, we were briefed to deliver otherworldly cinematic sound-design for the visually-arresting video from the award-winning director, including a 40 second sound design break mid-film - a trademark of Nordahl.


As ever, head sound designer Paul Sumpter, built the sonic worlds of the film, influenced by iconic 80s movies such as Mad Max and more recent homages such as Stranger Things, from the ground up. Using a series of granular techniques, some field recordings and a good healthy dose of on-the-fly automation through some outboard pedals, the result for the sound design break, was a truly unique alternative flavour to the electro-pop record, which the director simply described as "sick". Job done.

 

This is MØ’s first new music in over two years, and follows the worldwide success of co-writing Lean On with Major Lazer and DJ Snake which in 2015 was named by Spotify as the most streamed song of all time. 

The single was released on Sony Records on Thursday 27th May 2021.

Credits

Director - Joanna Nordahl @joannanordahl
Producer - Meghan Wilcox @meghan_krldn
Producer - Mathias Gilay @mathiasgilay
Executive Producer - Trine Pillay @trinepillay
Executive Producer - Sarah Pearson @porkpiepearson
Creative Direction - ISSTUDIO @isstudioworld
Production Co. - New Land @newland.tv
Commissioner - Kat Cattaneo
Director Of Photography - Jeremy Valender @jeremyvalender
Editor - Andreas Arvidsson @andreasarvidsson
Production Designer - Elena Muntoni @elenaaa.m
Stylist - Lee Trigg @ltrigg
Makeup Artist - Porsche Poon @porschepoon
Hairstylist - Benjamin David @b_dgram
Colorist - Julia Rossetti @juliarossetticolor
Sound Design - The Futz Butler @thefutzbutler
VFX - Copenhagen Visual @ copenhagenvisual
Globe Of Death Riders - Zyair Andres Marin Singh @zyair_circus & Valter Jonas @valter_jonas
1st Assistant Director - Ali Copland @alcopland
2nd Assistant Director - Laura Carrion
Director’s Assistant - Emmanuelle Soffé @em_soffe
Production Assistant - Chirolles Khalil @chirolleskhalil
Production Assistant - Amy Francesca @amyfrancescaa_
Artist Management - Melissa Gregerson & Jeff Lersch
Sony Music - Will Stevens & Mike O’Keefe
Steadicam - Beau Pritchard-James @beauxpj
BTS Photographer - Henry Redcliffe @hredcliffe
Online - Ollie Paxton @olliepax
1st Assistant Camera - Mike Linforth @mikelinforth
2nd Assistant Camera - Saskia Dixie @saskia.dixie
DIT - Ethan Lewis @chewy.lodge
DIT - Felix Wildey @felix_wildey
Gaffer - Peter Riches @petereriches
Electrician - Bruce Mann-McClernon
Electrician - James Griffiths
Electrician - Conrad Russell @conradprfilm
Electrician - Kong Wako @kongwako
Wardrobe Assistant - Donnika Anderson @donnikaa
Art Department - Jimmy Van Twest @jimmyvantwest
Art Department - Femi Omogbehin @o.jrnl
Art Department - Victoria Bridger
Art Department - Jade Rache @jaderacheart
Floor Runner - Charlie Harte
Floor Runner - Elizabeth Adeleye
Floor Runner - Alfie Davies @alfiewdaviesss
Catering - The Bean Bike 

Share

Posted by

CPTK7HwTOkMUzrZwkLDoZQgxD9SKlN1U1oaCNajw

Yaz Merrin

Marketing & Digital Manager

Friday 11 Jun 2021