Jorja Smith 'Addicted'

New work | 2 minute read

Jorja Smith 'Addicted'

Sound Design and Audio Post for Grammy nominated singer-songwriter's new single

Words by Paul Sumpter, Tuesday 2 Mar 2021

 

It's been a total pleasure to deliver some downright lo-fi sound design and Foley for the official video from Brit award-winning and Grammy nominated singer-songwriter, Jorja Smith - her first new music of 2021.

Co-directed by Savanah Leaf and produced by Academy, the new single Addicted, the follow up to By Any Means suggests a continued creative development from her acclaimed 2018 debut album Lost & Found.

Shot exclusively on webcam, Smith appears in a number of locations as she yearningly reflects on an unreciprocated relationship.

The sound design aesthetic needed a lightneess of touch from our side to replicate the DIY approach of the visuals and called for a low fidelity grain in both. As Leaf briefed us from New York "just make it sound shittier." No problem, we love direction like that!

The single premiered on 10th March 2021 and is available now to stream and buy.

Directed by Jorja Smith & Savanah Leaf @jorjasmith_ @savanahleaf
Director’s Assistant: Eva-Grace Bor @evagracem
Executive Producer: Maurizio Von Trapp @mauriziovontrapp
Producer: Georgina Smith @g____eorgina
Production Manager: Skye Goulding @skyegoulding
Production Assistant: Alice Hayes @alicehayes.photo

Creative Director: Erin Corrian-Alexis
Artist Assistant: Hannah Cameron-Grant

DOP: Joel Honeywell @joelhoneywell
Camera Operator: Jorja Smith
Production Designer: Andy Hillman @andyhillmanstudio
1st AD: Yasmin Godo @yazzypresents
Gaffer: Bernie Prentice
Art Dept Co-ordinator: Saskia Wickins
Art Dept Assist: Amy Murgatroyd
Construction: Cameron Eccles
Runner: Colum Ewart
Runner: Alice Kavanagh Ellis

Sound: The Futz Butler @thefutzbutler
Sound Designer: Paul Sumpter
Sound Producer: Chin Michael

Stylist: Toni-Blaze Ibekwe
Stylist Assist: Jess Doolan
Make Up: Carol Ann Reid
Hair: Zateesha Barbour
Hair Assist: Montre Alleyne
Nails: Pria Bhamra

Animals: Stampede Stunt Company @stampedeanimals
SFX: Machine Shop @machineshopsfx
Fireworks: Pyroheadz Fireworks @pyroheadzfireworks

Edit House: Work Editorial @workeditorial
Editor: Dan de Winter @dan_kan_het
Edit Producer: Ben Tomlin

Grade & Post: Electric Theatre Collective @electric.theatre.collective
Colourist: Luke Morrison @thehux
Flame: Mark Chapman
Post Producers: Oscar Wendt & Oliver Whitworth

Share

Posted by

fdvzDNskYKGcFqn1fKNLvH0hSpNWM0VR53qIA3sj

Paul Sumpter

Founder & Creative Director

Tuesday 2 Mar 2021